Thursday Thoughts: Breakfast talk

Hi there! I’ve been super busy with wrapping up the end of the semester and starting to get finals stuff underway… But one thing that keeps me going is breakfast. A nice hearty breakfast throughout my busy days.

I was never the biggest breakfast eater growing up, my sisters both always loved eggs, toast, bacon.. the whole nine yards. I usually skipped out and headed off to school. Today, I don’t miss out. Between longs at school and nights at the restaurant- I must eat a good breakfast.

We’ve heard this countless times. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It truly is!

Benefits:
> Boots energy
> A good breakfast  = metabolism booster
> Lower bad cholesterol
> Can increase your weight loss goals / or maintain*

I realized how much my love for breakfast has changed drastically and the amount of effort I put into my meals.
The other day I ran into Wawa to grab a coffee and snack. Snack is the keyword. I usually grab fruit, bar, nuts, etc. I chose this bar in particular:


On the bar I got it said MEAL replacement. I remember that over a year ago, this plus coffee would have been my breakfast. And then be a starvin marvin all day. It was such a realization moment. I continued driving in the car with my snack! 😉

breakfast
Today breakfast is exciting, versatile, yummy and even portable! Breakfast does not need to come in a form of a bar.

^^Here’s just an example^^
1- My stable item for school breakfasts. steel cut oats, tipped with fruit {mixed in PB, chia seeds, and flax}
2- A relaxing breakfast outside with a mix of all the right things! omelet, blue berry bagel + pb, plus fruit.
3 & 4 are some weekend breakfasts.. which could be  waffels, pancakes, or anything that catches my eye on brunch menus!

Every one of my breakfast usually have a protein + healthy fat + fruit = all day fuel 🙂

I think my focus changed once I started to not feel so great, was exhausted and was just eating because I thought that’s what I was supposed to be doing {eating random foods to fill hunger} After reading a lot, discovering blogs, trying ALL different types of breakfast I finally understood WHY IT IS the most important meal of the day. Not only is it important but also now my favorite {besides dessert of course} 😉

Yesterdays breakfast was OIAJ <— why didn’t  I do this sooner!?!?!
0All you need is…an empty pb jar {semi empty, you want your oats to soak to the good stuff ;-)}
& 1/2 cup Oats!
Adds in of choice:
Flax – chia – coconut shreds – extra pb – fruit – honey : Dress it up however you want!
Place in the fridge over night/ or eat warm.

* * *

Other examples of great breakfast choices:
> Yogurt parfait
> Smoothie {Green breakfast smoothie found @ the sparkle }
> Toast w/ nut butter + banana
> The famous English muffin with egg cheese + jelly! Julie is very famous for this bad boy.

My stomach is now growling for a nice breakfast before I do more studying pinterest. Enjoy your Thursday friends! xoxo

 

What’s your favorite breakfast food?
Were you always a big breakfast eater?

4 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Breakfast talk

  1. I can totally relate with your comment about eating a bar for breakfast. I used to do that too in high school since I was always on the run. I got so hungry and cranky! They just don’t “do it” like a real breakfast 🙂

    • Yep I know! today I can eat crazy amounts of breakfast and its prob just the same amount of calories in a large bar but more nutritional, filling & over all healthy 🙂 I do love my bars.. but SNACKS only! hehe

  2. I always eat 2 pieces of fresh fruit first, then Greek yogurt with ground flax seeds and honey! Very filling and i feel “clean” when I eat like this!

What are your thoughts?

